General Licensing Information
The Tennessee Real Estate Commission requires 90 hours of licensing education to apply for a Tennessee real estate license (Affiliate Broker). The 90 hours consist of two mandatory courses, Pre-License (60-hours) and Course for New Affiliates (30-hours).
AFFILIATE BROKER ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS
All applicants for Affiliate Brokers license must:
• Be at least 18 years of age.
• Have a high school diploma, GED, or college diploma.
• Proof of completion of the 60-hour Pre-Licensing course.
• Proof of completion of the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates course.
• Proof of Errors and Omissions Insurance coverage.
• Completed Real Estate Commission fingerprint requirement.
The Pre-License course is required of applicants applying for an Affiliate Brokers license. The course shall include significant instruction in the following areas; the real estate business, agency relationship, contracts, government controls on real estate, including the Tennessee Broker License Act, legal aspects of real estate, real estate mathematics, real estate valuation, real estate finance, listing, offer to purchase, settlement, Tennessee real estate laws, rules, practices, fair housing, and any additional subject the Commission may require by reasonable written notice to course sponsor and/or instructor.
Course tuition includes national textbook, state law binder, self-study exams, and practice exam.
Please bring the following materials with you, a pen, highlighters, and a notepad.
30-HOUR COURSE FOR NEW AFFILIATES
The Course for New Affiliates course is required of applicants applying for an Affiliate Brokers license. The course shall include significant instruction in the following areas: listings, agency, contracts, fair housing, antitrust, risk reduction, Tennessee Real Estate Commission’s laws/rules/policies, types of real estate, ethics, and finance.
All courses provided by TRECS Real Estate School, LLC. are accredited by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. All instructors have completed the requirements of the Commission and currently have an active instructor’s license. To meet our clients’ expectations, we require all licensed instructors to maintain a current broker’s license.
30-HOUR BROKER MANAGEMENT
The 30-hour Broker Management Course must be completed prior to submitting your request to take the Broker licensing exam.
Requirements to upgrade an affiliate license to a broker’s license.
The Tennessee Real Estate Commission requires all applicants for a broker’s license to:
- Licensed as an affiliate broker for at least three years
- Completed 120-hours of continuing education including the 30-hour Broker Management course
- Submit a request for a “certificate of eligibility” to the Real Estate Commission to test
All courses provided by TRECS Real Estate School are approved/accredited by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.